Need VS Want

“Happiness is appreciating what you have, not getting what you want.” ~ Anon

One really good task I was given in recovery was to daily list: I want to, I need to, and I have to and then list 3 things under each category. This assignment helped me in two ways. First, I prioritized my life more effectively. And, secondly, I learned that there is a difference between these things. A must is an imperative. Must would be things like eat, sleep, feed your kids, breathe, etc. A need is less dire than a must. Things we need to do each day: go to work, brush our teeth, drink water, pay our bills, etc. And, wants of course are things that are pleasing and enjoyable, like play, laugh, watch TV, spend time with friends, etc. The problem we sometimes run into is that we equate happiness with only getting our wants met.

In AA, we get to experience happiness through being of service, working with others, helping make society a better place to be, creating beauty in our personal spaces, etc. Once alcohol is removed from our lives, we can sense things at a greater level. I spoke with one gal when she was one week sober. She rejoiced in the fact that she could actually taste her food now. Waking up sober gives us a greater connection with the world around us. We can breathe more easily, feel more intensely, and taste the great flavors that HP has provided for us. Happiness is what happens when you can live and breathe free of this disease. Enjoy the freedom and clarity that sobriety brings us.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.